What is the ITIL Service Value System?


IT service management has always been concentrated on delivering value to the company through IT services. The ITIL 4 framework steps beyond version 3 IT Services Lifecycle and introduces two main components: the Service Value System (SVS) and the Four Dimensions Model.

You may have noticed that ITIL v3 had been replaced by ITIL 4 with the release of ITIL 4 Foundation Publication at the end of February. There has been much improvement, and there is much to navigate, beginning with the ITIL 4 service value system.

Therefore, we move into this article to know quickly what the ITIL 4 service value system is and what it offers.

What is ITIL 4 Foundation?

The title itself says: ITIL 4 Foundation covers basic concepts and terms and methods to start with the new ITIL version. ITIL 4 differentiates the following four key elements:

  1. Key concepts of service management
  2. Four dimensions of service management
  3. ITIL Service Value System (SVS) with the guiding principles
  4. ITIL Management Practices

Know More on ITIL 4 Service Value System (ITIL 4 SVS)

The ITIL 4 SVS incorporates several of Lean Six Sigma’s principles and Value Stream and emphasis on the customer base. The SVS’s purpose is to illustrate how all the organization’s elements and operations function together to generate profit.

To define a system at its most basic level as:

  • Several elements that work together in a mechanism or network of interconnections.
  • A structured scheme or process that has a collection of rules or protocols for anything to be done.

The ITIL SVS outlines how all of the organization’s elements and operations function together as a framework for generating value creation. Each SVS organization has interfaces with other organizations with a structured scheme or process that creates an ecosystem that, in turn, can facilitate the enterprise’s value, its customers, and other stakeholders.

Visualizing and building a service value system in an organization is a significant necessity for a new business world. ITIL® 4 takes the Service Value System (SVS) into consideration, which depicts the representation of different components or service assets and the firm’s activities during the service life cycle.

This system represents how all of an organization’s components and activities come together to create value through IT services. The Service Value Chain is essential to this business model, providing programs in six primary operations, focusing on delivering scalable value sources in several ways.

Let’s take an in-depth view of various assets of the ITIL® Service Value System (SVS).

1. Guiding Principles:

The guiding principles for ITIL® V4 Foundation Certification provide the needed guidance to ensure common understanding, creating a common approach to service management throughout the organization, and taking appropriate organization’s actions and decisions. These guiding principles provide the foundation for building the organization’s culture and behavior.

2. Governance

Governance is a formal framework that provides an organization with a structure to ensure that the organization can establish guidance and control. The company encourages its activities and generates value with its corporate investments.

Aligning an IT strategy within a business structure is a necessity, and it fulfills both at the organizational and IT levels by creating a formal policy framework.

3. Service Value Chain

It is a collection of loosely coupled tasks performed at any point (or repeatedly) by any service provider. Six value chain operations in the service value chain include Plan, Engage, Design & Transition, Obtain/Build, Deliver & Support, and Improve.

Whether the service provider is a micro-service developer or a company providing technology-enabled business services, will involve stakeholders, planning work, delivery, and support of live products and services. A lifecycle through the service value chain from converting demand to value is known as a Service Value Stream.

4. Practices

In ITIL®, management practice is a collection of operational tools organized to accomplish work or reach a goal. The 34 management practices in total fall into three categories: 14 general management practices, 17 service management practices, and three technical management practices. Among these 34 practices, many of them are new to ITIL 4, and some processes in ITIL v3 that do not have a corresponding method in ITIL 4.

With this tray of activities, ITSM organizations can focus on appropriate procedures and interpret them accurately.

5. Continual Improvement

Continuous service enhancement focuses on performance gains, improving productivity and reducing operation, personnel costs, and encompassing IT resources management activities.

Key Service Value Chain Activities

Each of the service value chain’s key activities contributes to value creation by transforming diverse input into specific outputs. As you can see, every business is engaged in an extremely interdependent life cycle, all of which lead to stakeholder value creation.

The service Value chain is the core of the ITIL 4 Service Value System and is informed and affected by each SVS aspect. Through the interaction of six main activities of the Service Value Chain, stakeholders can gain value in the form of services and products.

Need for the ITIL 4 Foundation Training Course

Would you like to know about ITIL 4? The secret to identifying what ITIL 4 entails is an appreciation of how value, outcomes, costs, and threats are applied, and how that is important to deliver IT services.

The ITIL 4 online training course enables you to examine the creation, delivery, and continuous improvement of products and services through a brand new end-to-end operational model. You can address the unique challenges of service management and using the strength of advanced ITIL 4 technologies. Yeah, and you can have the guaranteed certificate of your ITIL 4 Foundation.

You can learn about the company’s primary business line of IT network and the service management with ITIL Certification training or an ITIL course. Therefore, it is essential to have an awareness of ITIL whether you are working in an IT service providing company or accessing the services. You can learn the service management processes in either manner by taking the ITIL course.

Wrapping up

The Service Value System is the new model in ITIL 4 for value creation. It depends on you to see how rapidly the business conditions and needs are changing. You need to organize and create the right plan to stay updated in this competitive race world.

Successful employment requires proper career planning and commitment. Therefore, it will be based on your best interest to prepare you for this exciting and prosperous field by participating in the training programs and acquiring the required skills. If you want to take training or read the ITIL Foundation, this is up to you.